ENG | FR

Safaris Namibiens & Tours Culturels

L’Afrique à travers le coeur des gens

Email us about this tour

Kaokoland Extrême

16 Jours

Ce tour vous fait visiter les incontournables de la Namibie et axé sur le Kaokoland. Rencontrez le peuple hi,ba du Kaokoland dans leur village et visitez les chutes Epupa à la rivière Kunene. Les autres temps forts du safari incluent le parc national d’Etosha, le Damaraland, Twyfelfontein, Swakopmund et Sossusvlei.

Ovahimba du Kaokoland
PDJ = Petit-déjeuner, d= déjeuner, D= Diner
Itinéraire
Dates du tour
Carte

Jour 1

Vol

Préparation pour votre vol passant par Johannesburg ou direct depuis Francfort, avec nuit dans l’avion.

Jour 2

Windhoek - Otjiwarongo

Arrivée à l’aéroport international et rencontre avec votre guide. Votre safari commence ici.

Départ depuis Windhoek vers le nord en direction d’Okahandja, et si le temps le permet, nous nous arrêterons au marché de bois artisanal situé dans la petite ville. L’artisanat est majoritairement fabriqué à Okahandja, sinon il vient de pays voisins comme le Zimbabwe, la Zambie ou l’Afrique du Sud. Déjeuner en cours de route.

Arrivée et installation au Lodge

Diner et nuit à l’Out Of Africa ou similaire

[Out of Africa Lodge ou similaire | d, D]

Jour 3

Otjiwarongo – Etosha National Park

Le parc national d’Etosha s’étend sur une superficie de 22 270 km², et le lac asséché en recouvre une grande partie. Ce beau paysage stérile et envoûtant est surprenamment abondant de vie sauvage, qui se réunit régulièrement autour des différents points d’eau situés dans le parc, permettant de magnifiques safaris. Le parc accueille plus de 100 espèces de mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles, incluant plusieurs espèces menacées et en danger comme le rhinocéros noir. Les visiteurs peuvent s’attendre à observer différentes espèces d’antilopes, girafes, rhinocéros et lions entre autres. Si vous êtes chanceux, vous pourrez voir un léopard ou un guépard. Après les pluies, le lac salé se remplit d’eau ce qui sonne l’arrivée des flamants roses en masse. Plus de 340 variétés d’oiseaux ont été répertoriées dans le parc.

Dans l’après-midi, nous partons pour notre premier safari ou nous expérimenterons la vie sauvage africaine de plus près.

Diner et nuit au lodge

[Lodge | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 4

Parc National d’Etosha

Aujourd’hui nous partons pour une journée entière de safari ce qui nous donnera l’opportunité de bien observer les animaux et de faire des photos spectaculaires. Après le petit-déjeuner au lodge, nous partons pour une matinée de safari. Nous apprécierons le déjeuner dans le parc ou au lodge et repartirons en safari dans l’après-midi.

Diner et nuit au Lodge

[Lodge | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 5

Parc National d’Etosha

Nous traversons aujourd’hui le parc vers le sud. Nous passerons toute la journée en safari. Nous prendrons le déjeuner dans un des camps du parc et dinerons et passerons la nuit à Okaukuejo Lodge.

[Okaukuejo Lodge | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 6

Parc National d’Etosha – Opuwo

Après le petit-déjeuner au lodge, notre journée nous emmène à traverser la partie ouest du parc anciennement interdite. Nous prendrons un déjeuner pique-nique en cours de route et sortirons du parc via la porte Galton avant de rejoindre Opuwo, capital du grand Kunene. Le nom d’Opuwo signifie « assez / la fin » et la terre de différents peuples allant des tribus Ovahima au Ovazemba, Ovambo au Ovaherero. Nous arrivons en fin de journée.

Diner et nuit à l’Opuwo Country Lodge

[Opuwo Country Lodge| PDJ, d, D]

Jour 7

Etosha – Chutes Epupa

Après le petit-déjeuner, nous voyageons vers les chutes Epupa en traversant les paysages du Kaokoland, vers la terre des Ovahimba. Arrivée et installation au lodge.
La région est connue pour son environnement magnifique et préservé. Les chutes tombent dans la rivière Kunene qui fait frontière avec l’Angola. La rivière fait 500m de large et tombe en séries de petites cascades dont une plus grande de 37 mètres. Le lit de rivière est bordé de palmiers de makalani, figuiers et baobabs, ce qui crée un paradis enchanté. Environ 240 de variétés d’oiseaux sont répertoriées dans cette zone, incluant le l’aigle pêcheur africain, guêpiers, gobe mouche du paradis et le martin-pêcheur Malachite.

[Lodge| PDJ, d, D]

Jour 8

Chutes Epupa

Petit-déjeuner au lodge.
Départ pour la visite d’une tribu Ovahimba et de son village. Nous serons accompagnés d’un traducteur.
Cette ancienne tribu semi nomade a survécu et gardé ses traditions malgré les conditions de vie difficiles dans le désert dans lequel ils vivent. Ils portent peu de vêtements, oudes vêtements qui tombent en filet ou des mini jupes en peau de chèvre.
Les femmes sont reconnues par le rouge ocre et gras (otjize) qu’elles mettent sur leur corps afin de se protéger du soleil et qui donnent à leur peau une couleur rouge. Elles sont également connues pour leur travail des bijoux et leurs coiffures complexes.
Découvrez leur culture et leurs activités quotidiennes. C’est l’opportunité de leur parler et leur poser des questions sur les rituels du mariage et aitres cérémonies.
Nous prendrons le déjeuner au lodge
Dans l’après-midi, nous partons pour une excursion près de la rivière avec la possibilité d’apercevoir des crocodiles qui se prélassent sur les berges.
Diner au lodge.

[Lodge| PDJ, d, D]

Jour 9

Chutes Epupa – Damaraland

Aujourd’hui nous partons en direction d’Opuwo et faisons une petite pause, et continuons vers le sud pour rejoindre le Khowarib Lodge / Palmwag.
Diner et nuit au lodge.

[Khowarib/Palmwag Lodge| PDJ, d, D]

Jour 10

Damaraland – Twyfelfontein

Après le petit-déjeuner au lodge nous continuons notre voyage vers les paysages surprenant au cœur du Damaraland, et déjeunerons en cours de route ou au restaurant.
Nous arrivons au lodge en fin de journée

[Doronawas / Camp Kipwe / Mowani or Twyfelfontein or similar | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 11

Twyfelfontein – Swakopmund

Après le petit-déjeuner, nous visitons les célèbres gravures rupestres de Twyfelfontein.
Twyfelfontein est le site avec le plus grand nombre de gravures et peintures rupestres en Afrique. Cela consiste en un lieu entouré de montagnes de roches, une vraie galerie d’art à ciel ouvert, où sont représentés les rituels et scènes de chasse des communautés depuis au moins 2 millénaires en Afrique sub-saharienne. L’UNESCO a inscrit ce site comme le 1er site namibien du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco en 2007.
De retour sur la route, nous rencontrons des locaux pour parler de leur quotidien. Passage par la plus haute montagne de Namibie située sur votre droite (Brandberg), qui s’élève à environ 2 573m au dessus du niveau de la mer. Déjeuner en cours de route, ou au restaurant à Uis avant de continuer notre voyage vers la côte.
Nous dinerons dans un des très bons restaurants de Swakopmund.
Nuit en hôtel / chambre d’hôtes

[Hotel/Guesthouse or similar | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 12

Swakopmund

Petit-déjeuner au Lodge
Départ matinal pour une excursion en bateau.
Déjeuner sous forme de brunch à bord du bateau

Après-midi libre, possibilité de faire des activités en option avec supplément::

  • Vol scénique au dessus des dunes du Namib et de l’océan Atlantique en petit avion Cessna 210, 5 passagers maximum.
  • Excursion en véhicule 4x4 dans les dunes du Namib vers Sandwich Harbour, accompagné d’un chauffeur expérimenté. Vous apprécierez une bonne bouteille de champagne local et un brunch avec une sélection de produits de la mer.
  • Quad dans les dunes avec une jolie vue à la fois de l’océan vers l’ouest et des plaines vers l’est.
  • Après-midi libre pour faire des achats et visiter les monuments allemands historiques en ville.
  • Surf dans les dunes.
  • Une excursion guidée dans le désert à la recherche des petits reptiles tels que les serpents, geckos, lézards et scorpions.

Diner dans un restaurant à Swakopmund Nuit en hôtel / chambre d’hôtes.

[Hotel ou similaire | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 13

Swakopmund – Sossusvlei

Petit-déjeuner au Lodge

Départ vers le sud de Swakopmund.

Déjeuner en cours de route ou au restaurant

Continuation vers le Lodge en empruntant une jolie route scénique passant par le canyon Kuiseb ainsi que par le Tropique du Capricorne. Avec un peu de chance vous pourrez apercevoir des animaux comme le zèbre des montagnes, springbok, autruches et suricates.

Arrivée et installation au Lodge en fin de journée

Diner et nuit au Lodge.

[Lodge | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 14

Sossusvlei

Nous nous retrouvons de bon matin après un petit-déjeuner matinal pour visiter Sossusvlei. La région est connue pour ses dunes rouges spectaculaires, dont les plus grandes du monde atteignant 300m de haut. Sossusvlei en lui-même est un grand lac blanc, situé au milieu du plus vieux désert du monde et offre des opportunités de photos incroyables. Occasionnellement, le lac se remplit d’eau ce qui offre un spectacle magnifique.

Malgré les dures conditions du désert, il est possible de trouver une variété de plantes et animaux qui ont réussi à s’adapter et survivre.

Despite the harsh desert conditions in the area, one can find a wide variety of plants and animals here which have adapted to survive.

Déjeuner au lodge avant de visiter le canyon de Sesriem. Le canyon a été creusé depuis des millions d’années par la rivière Tsauchab et est un des rares endroits où l’on trouve de l’eau tout au long de l’année. Il mesure 30 mètres de profondeur et fait près d’un kilomètre de long et entre 1 et 3 mètres de large. Le canyon est un lieu intéressant à visiter et pour une marche dans un passage étroit afin de voir différentes formations rocheuses.

Nous rentrons au lodge dans l’après-midi

[Lodge | PDJ, d, D]

Jour 15

Windhoek

Après le petit déjeuner au lodge, nous rentrons sur Windhoek en passant par la chaine de montagnes Khomas Hochland. Déjeuner en cours de route ou au restaurant. A votre arrivée à Windhoek, nous vous réservons une nuit dans un hôtel à Windhoek si vous passez votre dernière nuit en ville. Diner libre.

[Lodge | PDJ, d]

Jour 16

Windhoek – Retour

Après votre petit-déjeuner, transfert vers l’aéroport international de Windhoek pour votre vol retour.
Nous vous souhaitons un excellent retour et espérons de tout cœur que vous avez apprécié votre séjour avec Omuhimba safaris cc

[PDJ]

Place Maximum pour ce tour: 9

Dates de départ Dates retour Places disponible
30 novembre 2017 15 décembre 2017 6
Chutes Epupa, rivière Kunene Eléphant, Kaokoland Village himba

ENG | FR

Namibian Safaris & Cultural Tours

Africa through the hearts of the people

Email us about this tour

Extreme Kaokoland

16 days

This tour visits all of Namibia's top highlights with a special focus on Kaokoland. Visit the Ovahimba people of Kaokoland in their village and the Epupa Falls on the Kunene River. Other highlights include the Etosha National Park, Damaraland, Twyfelfontein, Swakopmund and Sossusvlei.

Ovahimba of Kaokoland
B=Breakfast; L=Lunch; D=Dinner
Itinerary
Map

Day 1

Flight

Fly overnight to Namibia via Johannesburg or directly via Frankfurt.

Day 2

Windhoek - Otjiwarongo

Your safari starts at the airport where your guide will meet you.

We depart from Windhoek towards the north in the direction of Okahandja. If time permits we will stop at the large open Craft Market here, which boasts crafts from all over southern Africa, including Namibia, Zimbabwe, Zambia and South Africa.

You will enjoy lunch on the road before arriving at the lodge where we will overnight. Dinner at the lodge.

[Out of Africa Lodge or similar | L D]

Day 3

Otjiwarongo – Etosha National Park

We continue northwards into the Etosha National Park, arriving at the lodge in time for lunch.

The Etosha National Park spans an area of 22 270 square km, a large part of which is taken up by a vast salt pan. This beautiful barren and often haunting landscape is surprisingly abundant in game, which often congregate around the various waterholes scattered around the park, allowing for some spectacular game viewing. The park is home to hundreds of species of mammals, birds and reptiles, including several threatened and endangered species such as the black rhinocerous. Visitors can expect to see many buck species, elephants, giraffe, rhino and lions. If you are lucky you will see leopard and cheetah. After good rains, the salt pan fills with water attracting a mass of flamingos. More than 340 bird species have been counted in the park.

In the afternoon, we go out on our first game drive where we will experience Africa's wildlife up close. Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

[Mushara Bush Camp or similar | BLD]

Day 4

Etosha National Park

Today will be a full day of safari game viewing allowing plenty of opportunities for good sightings and spectacular photographs. After breakfast at the lodge, we go out on our morning game drive. We will enjoy lunch in the park/lodge and then return to our game drive in the afternoon.

Dinner and overnight at the lodge.

[Mushara Bush Camp or similar | BLD]

Day 5

Etosha National Park

Today we travel through the park and into its southern regions. We will spend the whole day on safari. We enjoy lunch at one of the resort camps inside the park and will have dinner and spend the night at the Okaukuejo Lodge.

[Okaukuejo or similar | BLD]

Day 6

Etosha – Opuwo

After breakfast at the lodge our journey takes us through the formerly restricted western side of the park. We have a packed lunch on our journey and exit at the Galton gate before heading to Opuwo, capital of the great Kunene. The name Opuwo means ‘enough / finish’ and is home to a varied population ranging from the Ovahima to the Ovazemba, Ovambo and Ovaherero tribes. We arrive in the late afternoon.

[Opuwo Country Lodge| BLD]

Day 7

Opuwo – Epupa Falls

After breakfast, we travel up through Kaokoland, home of Epupa Falls and the Ovahimba people. On arrival, we check in at the lodge.
The area is known for its beautiful and largely unspoiled environment. The Falls lie on the Kunene River which borders Angola. The river is 0.5 km wide and drops in a series of waterfalls over a space of 1.5km with the greatest single drop being 37 meters. The riverbed is lined with makalani palms, fig and baobab trees creating an enchanting paradise. About 240 Namibian bird species have been recorded in the area including the African Fish eagle, Bee-eaters, African Paradise-Flycatcher and the Malachite Kingfisher.
After visiting the falls we return to the lodge for dinner.

[Epupa Falls Camp| BLD]

Day 8

Epupa Falls

We have breakfast at the lodge and depart for a visit to the Ovahimba tribe in their Village. We will be accompanied by a translator.
This ancient tribe of semi-nomadic herders has managed to survive and keep its traditions despite the harsh desert environment in which it lives. The Ovahimba wear few clothes apart from a loin cloth or goat skinned mini skirts. The women are reknowned for the red ochre and fat (otjize) which they rub over their bodies to protect themselves from the sun, and which gives their skin a rich red colour. They are also known for their jewellery and intricate hairstyles. You will learn about their culture and daily activities. This is your opportunity to talk to them and ask them questions about their marriage rituals and many other ceremonies.
We have lunch back at the lodge.
In the afternoon we go on an excursion along the river. There is a chance of coming across some of the many crocodiles which lounge along its banks.
We have dinner and spend the night at the lodge.

[Epupa Falls Camp| BLD]

Day 9

Epupa Falls – Damaraland

Today we depart in the direction of Opuwo, stopping over and then continuing down to Khowarib Lodge / Palmwag, where we enjoy a guided walk along the nearby riverbed.
We will have dinner and overnight here.

[Palmwag Lodge| BLD]

Day 10

Damaraland – Twyfelfontein

After breakfast at the lodge we continue our journey through the striking landscapes of Damaraland, enjoying lunch on the road or at a restaurant.
We arrive at our lodge towards the end of the afternoon.

[Twyfelfontein Country Lodge or similar | BLD]

Day 11

Twyfelfontein – Swakopmund

After breakfast we visit the celebrated rock engravings of Twyfelfontein.
Twyfelfontein is the site of one of the largest concentrations of rock petroglyphs (engravings) and rock paintings in Africa. It consists of a spring in a valley flanked by the slopes of a sandstone mountain. The rock art forms an extensive record of ritual practices relating to hunter-gatherer communities in this part of southern Africa over at least 2 millenia. UNESCO approved it as Namibia's first World Heritage Site in 2007.
Back on the road again, we meet up with some of the locals. We pass by Namibia's highest mountain (Brandberg), which reaches about 2573 metres above sea level.
Lunch will be enjoyed along the road, at a restaurant or at Uis, before continuing our journey to the coast. We have dinner at one of Swakopmund's many fine restaurants. We will overnight at a hotel / guesthouse.

[Delight Hotel or similar | BLD]

Day 12

Swakopmund

After breakfast, we will depart on a boat cruise which includes a wonderful brunch (no lunch). Enjoy a variety of seafood, soft drinks and sparkling wine.

In the afternoon, you are free to try out some of the many activities Swakopmund has to offer (own account). These include:

  • Scenic flights over the Namib dunes and Atlantic ocean in a small Cessna 210 aircraft of 5 passengers.
  • Sandwich Harbour 4x4 Drives on the Namib dunes with a very well experienced off-road driver including champagne and a lovely brunch with a selection of seafood.
  • Quad bike rides in the dunes boasting lovely views of both the sea to the west and the plains on the east.
  • Shopping and exploring the historical German buildings in town.
  • Sand boarding in the dunes.
  • Desert Living Adventure in the dunes looking for small reptiles such as snakes, geckos, lizards and scorpions.

Dinner will be at one of Swakopmund's many fine restaurants.

[Delight Hotel or similar | BLD]

Day 13

Swakopmund – Sossusvlei

We depart for Sossusvlei, travelling south. Lunch will be enjoyed on the road or at a restaurant. The journey takes us through beautiful, scenic landscapes. We pass by the Kuiseb Canyon and across the Tropic of Capricorn. We may spot wildlife, including mountain zebra, springbok, ostrich and even suricate.

We arrive at our lodge during the late afternoon.

[Namib Desert Lodge or similar| BLD]

Day 14

Sossusvlei

We set out early after breakfast to visit Sossusvlei. The area is best known for its spectacular red dunes, some of which are considered the highest in the world, reaching 300m. Sossusvlei itself is a large, white, salt and clay pan located in the midst of this ancient, red wilderness and provides wonderful photographic opportunities. Occasionally the pan fills up with water offering a fantastic spectacle as the glassy lake reflects the surrounding dunes.

Despite the harsh desert conditions in the area, one can find a wide variety of plants and animals here which have adapted to survive.

Lunch will be enjoyed at the lodge before setting off again to Sesriem Canyon. The canyon has been shaped over millions of years by the Tsauchab river and is one of the few places in the area that holds water all year round. It is up to 30 metres deep at points and about 1km long with a width of between 1 and 3 metres. The canyon is a fun and interesting place to visit. We will walk through its narrow passageway viewing the different rock formations and exposed layers along the way.

We return to the lodge in the afternoon.

[Namib Desert Lodge or similar | BLD]

Day 15

Windhoek

After enjoying breakfast at the lodge, we depart back to Windhoek via the great escarpment mountain range and then over the Khomas Hochland. Lunch will be enjoyed on the road or in a restaurant. On our arrival, we book you into your hotel for the night, if you are still spending a night in Windhoek.

[Avani Hotel/Kalahari Sands Hotel or similar | BL]

Day 16

Windhoek – Home

After breakfast, you depart for the airport for your international flight back home. We wish you a safe return back home and we strongly believe that you enjoyed your time with Omuhimba safaris!

[B]

Epupa Falls, Kunene river Elephant, Kaokoland Himba village